Feelings and frustrations.

Feelings, so deep in my feelings, no this ain’t really like me, can’t control my anxiety – Ella Mai – Boo’ed Up

As much as I love that song, this blog post doesn’t really come from a place of feeling head over heels in love with someone. Sorry to anyone who may feel disappointed. This is one is more about feelings and reactions…..

Let me give an example. So you’ve organised a weekend away with your girls to Manchester. You struggle to all make out time to see each other because of various different reasons – work, family life etc etc, so the fact you’ve all made it to Manchester is a pretty big deal. However the person who invited you has barely made an appearance all weekend. Are you wrong to feel some type of way ?

I’m the type of person who tries to go above and beyond for people because I’d like people to do the same for me. However these days I seem to find myself in situations like the one above where I’m left feeling disappointed. Then I begin to question whether or not I’m allowed to feel disappointed or not. Almost as if I’m having to justify my feelings to myself. And I hate it. I hate the feeling of others not being able to recognise why their behaviour/actions might provoke a somewhat negative reaction.

I struggle to understand why it seems to be hard for people to see life and see things from someone else’s point of view. I’m pretty sure no one wants to feel used, unimportant, unappreciated and left feeling like they’re not a priority in the same way they prioritise others. Yet it seems to be easy that people do it to those who love them.

I’m a very strong believer of “treat others how you would like to be treated” and I think it’s very important in life to remember the good things that people do and to remember those who go the extra mile for you. Those are people to cherish and not take for granted. The world is becoming a very selfish place and we need to remember to look after our loved ones and look out for people. Always.

Leave a comment